My first blog: my path towards blogging

As the first blog ever for almost everyone turns out to be a quite boring one, I will be traditional this one time. After almost a year of consideration, worries (does the world want to hear my opinions? Do I have anything interesting to say?etc) and a lot of urge I finally gathered courage to start blogging.

A lot of things happened for the last couple months which served as a catalist for me to take this step, though. First of all I made a decision to write a dissertation on social media. Reading around it made me curious and engaged. I have always believed in a power of word of mouth, and online social media empowered it even more, by allowing one to many communication, yet two-ways.

The next step on my path towards blogging was participating in EuroBlog 2008 conference in Brussels last month, where I met extraordinary and extremely interesting people like David Weinberger, Neville Hobson, Bruno Amaral, Philip Young, Thomas Pleil, David Phillips and many others. I hope one day I will be able to express myself as elegantly and witty as they do.

And of course, my professor, supervisor and mentor, Richard Bailey, has contributed most to boost my self confidence when it comes to writing publically. I will always appreciate it.

And finally, today I have also started twittering. If all great journeys start with one small step, it is definitely my case. How great this journey is going to be remains to be seen 😉

 

7 Responses to “My first blog: my path towards blogging”


  1. 1 Thomas Pleil April 5, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Helena, welcome in the Social Web! Great to see you here and on Twitter.

  2. 3 helenanm April 5, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Thank you Thomas! It took some time, but now I think I’m finally ready to add my little voice to the noisy and growing blogosphere 🙂

  3. 4 Philip April 5, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    It’s all about little voices which say sensible things! Good luck – I will listen,

  4. 5 Richard Bailey April 6, 2008 at 6:45 am

    A small start maybe, but quite a few people have already tuned in. (Never forget the value of the old style social network when considering the benefits of the new.)

  5. 6 Elif Esiyok April 10, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Helena it is nice to see you on this platform 🙂 Welcomeee, we are becoming older 🙂

  6. 7 Helena Makhotlova April 11, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Thanks, Elif!

    I actually feel I got younger since I became a “social media geek”. I feel like a child who’s just got a new toy 🙂 I prefer we become wiser rather than older 😉

    Good luck on your blog Looks very professional!


Leave a Reply

